myU OneStop

What's Inside

Related Links

Home > People > Awards and appointments, May 2008

Awards and appointments, May 2008

By Adam Overland

Rajiv Vaidyanathan
UMD's Rajiv Vaidyanathan won a 2008 University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service.

May 21

President's Emerging Leaders for 2008-09 are Pandora Aaron, Jeff Abbuzzahab, Tracy Anderson, Sophia Anema, Dean Carlson, Stacy Doepner-Hove, Korey Garibaldi, Craig Gjerdingen, JP Hagerty, Bryan Herrmann, Katherine Himes, Jacqueline Hoffsten, Ronald Huesman, Nickolas Kemske, Michele Lorenz, Peyton Owens, Heather Peterson, Renee Rivers, Barbara Schwab, Jody Seiler-Peterson, Kent Spaulding, Shane Stennes, Gwen Sutter, Mary Vincent Franco, Yelena Yan, and Makeda Zulu-Gillespie. The President's Emerging Leaders Program provides a structured, yet flexible leadership development opportunity for high potential P&A, Civil Service, and Bargaining Unit staff across the U. For more information, see emerging leaders.

UMC instructor and chief pilot Michael Vivion recently received re-accreditation as a master certificated flight instructor (CFI) from The National Association of Flight Instructors (NAFI). He has held accreditation with NAFI, a professional aviation education association, continuously since 2002. For more information see the news release.

UMD's Kenneth Gilbertson, associate professor, Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, and Rajiv Vaidyanathan, professor, Department of Marketing, Labovitz School of Business and Economics, have been awarded the 2008 University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service. For more information, see outstanding service.

May 14

Greg Lindsey has been named associate dean of the Humphrey Institute beginning August 1, 2008. Lindsey joins the Humphrey Institute after serving as a professor and an associate dean with Indiana University's School of Public and Environmental Affairs. His current research focuses on elements of urban design that influence use of urban pedestrian infrastructure, such as multi-use trails. For more information, see the news release.

Misty Sato
Misty Sato has been selected to receive the 2008 Young Scholars Research Fellowship.

Misty Sato, assistant professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, has been selected to receive the 2008 Young Scholars Research Fellowship from the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation. The fellowship is designed to support early career scholars engaged in research critical to the recruitment, preparation, induction, mentoring, and retention of science and mathematics teachers in U.S. high schools. Sato is one of only four recipients of this nationally competitive award and will receive support for her research over a two-year period.

Department of English creative writing program faculty member Charles Baxter, had his recent novel The Soul Thief (Pantheon) voted as one of the top books in the fiction section of the Spring NBCC Good Reads List by the National Book Critics Circle. The NBCC Good Reads List was created in fall 2007, offering books being avidly read and discussed by America's leading critics and the world's most celebrated writers.

Harouna Maiga
Harouna Maiga

UMC agriculture professor Harouna Maiga, has been awarded the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Teacher Fellow Award. He will be recognized during the 54th Annual NACTA Conference at Utah State University, June 10-13. NACTA recognizes individuals whose efforts represent the very best in agricultural higher education. For more about Harouna Maiga, read "Home is where the farm is."

Agricultural economist Brian Buhr has been named head of the Department of Applied Economics. Since joining the department in 1992, Buhr has been recognized for his teaching skills as well as his research. In 2007, he was awarded the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences' Distinguished Teaching Award. His recent research projects have included evaluating the economic value of traceability for implementing quality improvement in the meat and livestock supply chain and an evaluation of the economic value of animal agriculture in Minnesota. He begins his new role July 1. Read more about Brian Buhr.

Best director of graduate studies award (DGS) recipients for 2008 are John Campbell, psychology, and Lois Cucullu, English, UMTC. Best DGS Assistant Award recipients are Lisa Hubinger, comparative and molecular bioscience and veterinary medicine, and Gail Kalli, plant biological sciences, UMTC.

May 7

The Medical School has recruited Joseph Metzger as professor and head of the Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology and the Maurice Visscher Endowed Chair in Physiology. His appointment begins Aug. 15. Metzger, one of the top molecular and integrative physiologists in the United States, will bring his research expertise in cardiovascular performance in health and disease, which includes genetic and chemical-based therapies. The Minnesota native comes to the Twin Cities campus from University of Michigan, where he has been a faculty member since 1991.

Adjunct instructor of epidemiology Kristen Ehresmann was appointed to a four-year term on the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practice (ACIP). She is only the second nurse to be appointed to the committee. The ACIP consists of 15 experts in fields associated with immunization who have been selected by the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to provide advice and guidance.

Electrical and computer engineering professor Guillermo Sapiro has been named editor-in-chief of the new Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journal on Imaging Sciences.

Patrick Lloyd, dean of the School of Dentistry, received the President's Citation from the American Dental Education Association in recognition of his contributions to the association and dental education.

Healthcare management professor James Begun has been awarded the Filerman Prize from the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.

Jean Wyman, nursing professor, has been elected as president of the Midwest Nursing Research Society.

Regents Professor Emeritus G. Edward Schuh, who retired from the University last year, died Sunday due to complications following heart surgery. He was 77 years old. Schuh, an expert in the areas of economics and agriculture, held joint appointments in the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, Department of Applied Economics, and Department of Economics. He served as head of the then-Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics from 1979 to 1984 and as dean of the Humphrey Institute from 1987 to 1996. In the intervening period, he was the director of agriculture and rural development for the World Bank in Washington, D.C. From 1996 until his retirement in 2006, Schuh served as director of the Orville and Jane Freeman Center for International Economic Policy at the Humphrey Institute.