myU OneStop

What's Inside

Related Links

Home > People > Awards and appointments, March 2008

Awards and appointments, March 2008

By Pauline Oo

Laura Cooper
The Legal Aid Society has recognized Law School professor Laura Cooper for outstanding career contributions.

March 26

Pat Salmi, a research associate at the Institute on Community Integration, has received the Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management Award of Excellence for Outstanding Teamwork for her work on CMIST (Communication, Medical, Independence, Supervision and Transportation), a volunteer organization that advocates for emergency preparedness, response, and recovery on behalf of the elderly and people with disabilities.

Law School professor Laura Cooper will be honored at the 27th Annual Law Day Testimonial Dinner on May 1 at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center. The annual event, co-sponsored by the Fund for the Legal Aid Society and the Hennepin County Bar Association, is held to recognize individuals for outstanding career contributions. Cooper's public service includes a decade of enforcing a consent decree for equal opportunity for women faculty at the University of Minnesota. She was a member of the Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis board for 24 years where she also served as president. Cooper is currently the J. Stewart and Mario Thomas McClendon Professor in Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution at the Law School.

Lorentz Wittmers, Jr. has been named head of the physiology and pharmacology department, Medical School-Duluth. Wittmers was interim head.

Orthopaedic surgeon David Polly recently codirected a three-day seminar on the latest technology, techniques, and trends in spine surgery in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Linda Lindeke, associate professor of nursing, was named president-elect of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners. She will serve a three-year term.

March 12

Correction from March 5:

Darlene Charboneau
Darlene Charboneau

Darlene Charboneau is the Academic Health Center's BioSecurityLevel 3 (BSL3) facilities manager. A BSL 3 facility at the AHC handles animal and human pathogens that require particular oversight and care. Charboneau was the University's biosafety officer and heavily involved in the design of all AHC BSL3 research spaces.

Stephen Feinstein, director of the U's Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies and adjunct professor of history, died on Tuesday, March 4. Feinstein was speaking at the Jewish Film Festival when he suffered an aortic aneurysm that resulted in cardiac arrest. Read more at "U professor dies at 64".

Lynn Zentner is the U's new director of institutional compliance, effective April 14. She will be responsible for assuring that the University is compliant with federal, state, and local laws, rules, and regulations, as well as institutional policies. Zentner returns to her alma mater (B.S.) from Medtronic, Inc., where she provided legal advice to the organization's compliance officer and Office of Ethics and Compliance. Prior to Medtronic, Zentner served as assistant U.S. Attorney for eighteen years.

Morse-Alumni Award recipients for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education are Todd Arnold, fisheries, wildlife, and conservation biology; Janet Schrunk Ericksen, English (UMM); Leon Hsu, postsecondary teaching and learning; Timothy Johnson, political science; Terry Jones, astronomy; Kristopher McNeill, chemistry; Barry McQuarrie, mathematics (UMM); and Kristen Nelson, forest resources. The award ceremony will be April 28 at McNamara Alumni Center on the Twin Cities campus.

Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education Award recipients are Massoud Amin, electrical and computer engineering; Richard Brundage, experimental and clinical pharmacology; Cesare Casarino, cultural studies and comparative literature; Douglas Foster, animal science; John Freeman, political science; Stephen Katz, integrative biology and physiology; John Matheson, law; and Melissa Middleton Stone, public affairs.

Gary Cooper
Undergraduate program coordinator Gary Cooper has received a John Tate Award for undergraduate advising.

John Tate Award recipients for excellence in undergraduate advising are Randal Barnes, civil engineering; Gary Cooper, applied economics; Charles Habstritt, agriculture (UMC); and Holly Hatch-Surisook, psychology. Award ceremony will be April 4, Radisson University Hotel.

March 5

Biosafety officer Darlene Charbonea is now manager of the Academic Health Center's biosafety three (BSL3) facilities. She has been heavily involved in the design of all AHC's BSL3 research spaces on the Twin Cities campus.

Joseph Juran, a 1924 U graduate in electrical engineering and namesake of the Joseph M. Juran Center for Leadership in Quality at the U's Carlson School of Management, passed away on Feb. 28; he was 103. Juran's Quality Control Handbook, first published in 1951, revolutionized how companies made and sold products. In 1979, he founded the Juran Institute, an organization aimed at providing companies with research and advice on managing quality. He transferred the Juran Foundation and its assets to the University of Minnesota in 1998 and described the Joseph M. Juran Center as "a place where leaders engage with scholars to shape critical questions, where new knowledge is developed, translated and disseminated, and, above all, where quality scholars are trained." Juran's support allowed the center to create a fellowship program for doctoral students conducting research in quality. Over the last 10 years, 50 Juran Fellows have been named; many of whom are now faculty at leading research universities. Read the news release.

UMD marketing professors Praveen Aggarwal, Rajiv Vaidyanathan, and Linda Rochford received the Outstanding Article of the Year Award by the Journal of Marketing Education. The article, "The Wretched Refuse of a Teeming Shore? A Critical Examination of the Quality of Undergraduate Marketing Students," was published in December 2007 issue and chosen from 25 articles the journal ran last year. The professors will be honored on April 24 at the Marketing Educators' Association Annual Conference in Salt Lake City.

Judith Berman, professor of genetics, cell biology, and development, was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for work deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.