myU OneStop

What's Inside

Related Links

Saying goodbye and hello

The President's Emerging Leaders program honors graduates and welcomes new leaders

PEL Coordinator Dave Dorman 165
PEL Coordinator Dave Dorman addresses the graduates.

July 27, 2010

The President’s Emerging Leaders (PEL) program recently bid farewell to its 2009-10 cohort and welcomed a new group of developing University leaders into the program.

On June 22, the 21 members of the outgoing 2009-10 PEL cohort were honored during a ceremony at McNamara Alumni Center. During the past year, those PEL participants were divided into four teams, each charged with devising a plan to address an important issue facing the University. Each team spent the year working on the issue to which it was assigned while also attending large-group leadership sessions and being mentored individually by a University leader.

At the graduation ceremony, the PEL teams presented, in poster form, their proposed solutions to their issue. Each team must also prepare a detailed report presenting their solutions. Posters from the 2009-10 cohort are available to view on the PEL website. PEL reports will be available to view later this year.

2009-10 Projects

Family –Friendly Workplace

Sponsors: Arlene Carney, vice provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs; Carol Carrier, vice president for Human Resources
Team members: April Coon, William Dana, Ginny Levi, Barb Schwab, Heidi Wagner

Internationalizing University Research

Sponsor: Meredith McQuaid, associate vice president and dean, Office of International Programs
Team members: Kristen Gandrow, Amy Kampsen, Sandy Massel, Joseph Shultz, Deanne Silvera

Teaching 21st Century Literacies

Sponsor: Karen Williams, director of Academic Programs, University Libraries
Team members: Holly Bunn, Justin Christy, Jeremy Jenkins, Jason Marchiafava, Amy Porter

Student Social Platform Initiative
Sponsor: Andrew Furco, associate vice president for Public Engagement
Team members: Ted Butler, Keith Carlson, Beth Isensee, Alissa Jones, Toni Leeth, Michael Werner

Many members of the incoming 2010-11 PEL cohort were present at the ceremony to get a taste of the year they are about to experience. The newest PEL group, which was selected in May, consists of 25 members who will be divided into five teams. For more information, see biographies of each of the 2010-11 PEL cohort members.

Celebrating its ninth year, the PEL program provides leadership development opportunities for high potential academic professional and administrative (P&A), civil service, and bargaining unit staff. The program features educational and experiential components and promotes skill development to enhance leadership effectiveness.

Members of the 2010-11 PEL cohort:
Susan Andre, College of Education and Human Development; Jeremy Casper, University Relations; Maggie Cosgrove, College of Liberal Arts; Erik Dussault, Student Unions and Activities; Eric Eklund, Disability Services; Chad Ellsworth, Office for Student Affairs; Meredith Fisher, Clinical and Translational Science Institute; Jennie Germain, Department of Theatre Arts & Dance; Apeckchya Karki, Capital Planning and Project Management; Aron Khoury, Office for Business and Community Economic Development; Kristy Lashbaugh, College of Veterinary Medicine; Andy Merrill, Office of Measurement Services; Faith Mrutu, Schulze Diabetes Institute; Amber Peifer, Law School; Christina Petersen, Center for Teaching and Learning; Paige Rohman, College of Design; Lisa Rogers, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Women’s Health; Alyssa Ruesch, CLA Language Center; Emily Saunoi-Sandgren, Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs; Chuck Semrow, Minnesota Medical Foundation; Jamie Spanks, Minnesota Landscape Arboretum; Larry Storey, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science; Missy Sullivan, Department of Applied Economics; Brian Vetter, Environmental Health and Safety; Stephanie Xenos, College of Biological Sciences.