U of M Home > Administration


President Kaler with students. Northrop Auditorium. Four adults meeting. Board of Regents seal carved in marble.

The University of Minnesota is governed by a Board of Regents whose 12 members are elected by the Minnesota Legislature. Each of the state’s eight congressional districts are represented by a Regent, along with four others who represent the state at large.

The president of the University serves as the chief executive officer of the University and ex officio president of the Board of Regents. With offices in Morrill Hall on the Twin Cities campus, the president is supported by an executive team that includes one senior vice president, vice presidents, the general counsel, chancellors of the University’s four coordinate campuses, the director of athletics, and the president of the University of Minnesota Foundation. 


University Governance and Representation



Related Links