University of Minnesota
Office of Human Resources

Appendix G Extension Geographic Areas

During the negotiations of the 2003-2005 collective bargaining agreement between the parties, AFSCME identified an interest in investigating the work locations of the employees of Extension and determining whether for Extension the parties could recognize a different definition of “Immediate Geographic Area”, than the 11 areas specified in the collective bargaining agreement.

The parties met on three occasions and have concluded that for employees of Extension in classes 4911 (Community Nutrition Educator) and 4912 (Community Program Assistant), the parties shall recognize the following in lieu of the “Immediate Geographic Areas”, listed in Article 25, Section 6 (F). These alternatives shall be applicable only for purposes of layoff and bumping by Extension employees in classes 4911 and 4912.

With the exception of employees located in the Twin Cities campuses and surrounding area, which includes Rosemount, Chaska, Excelsior, Navarre, and Bethel, the employees’ initial bump would be to the position of the least senior employee in the same class within Extension whose work location is within fifty (50) miles of the work location of where the layoff occurred. If there is no bump available as described, then the employee may bump to the position held by the least senior Extension employee within the same classification within the following specifically defined areas (defined by county):

  • Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake and Polk;
  • Clearwater, Norman, Mahnomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Ottertail, Hubbard and White Earth Reservation;
  • Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Stevens, Pope, Big Stone, Swift, Chippewa and Lac Qui Parle;
  • Yellow Medicine, Redwood, Lincoln, Lyon, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Nobles and Jackson;
  • Koochiching, Itasca, Cass, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Wadena, Todd, Morrison, Mille Lacs and Beltrami;
  • Lake, St. Louis, Carlton, Pine, Kannabec, Isanti and Chisago;
  • Martin, Faribault, Freeborn, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, LeSueur, Nicollet, Brown and Sibley;
  • Mower, Fillmore, Houston, Winona, Olmstead, Dodge, Steele, Wabasha, Goodhue and Rice;
  • Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Wright, Renville and McLeod.

For the purposes of this Memorandum, and the employees covered by this Memorandum only, the Twin Cities campus and surrounding area shall be defined as covering all work areas located in the counties of Anoka, Ramsey, Hennepin, Dakota, Scott, Carver and Washington.

This agreement does not preclude or inhibit the Employer’s inherent management right to restructure and/or reorganize at a future date. This Memorandum shall be applicable only for layoffs initiated after the date the Memorandum has been fully executed and signed by all parties.

This agreement shall remain in effect through June 30, 2013, upon which date it shall expire.