Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

Media Advisory.

Media Advisory

U of M's Immigration History Center to host naturalization ceremony

What: Naturalization ceremony at the University of Minnesota
When: 1 p.m. Friday, March 2
Where: 125 Willey Hall, 225 19th Ave. S, Minneapolis
Who: Judge Janie Mayeron (presiding); words of welcome from Provost Karen Hanson, CLA Dean James A. Parente and Humphrey School of Public Affairs Dean Eric Schwartz

Contacts: Kelly O'Brien, College of Liberal Arts,, (612) 624-4109
Jeff Falk, University News Service,, (612) 626-1720

February 29, 2012

The Immigration History Research Center (IHRC) at the University of Minnesota, in collaboration with the American Immigration Lawyers Association-Minnesota/Dakotas chapter, will host a naturalization ceremony at 1 p.m. Friday, March 2 in 125 Willey Hall, 225 19th Ave. S, Minneapolis.

One hundred immigrants from more than 25 countries will take part in the ceremony.

The event will begin with the Immigrant of Distinction Award Ceremony, at which the American Immigration Lawyers Association-Minnesota/Dakotas Chapter will recognize two immigrants who have contributed in significant ways to American society. The Immigration History Research Center archives oral histories by the award recipients, among their many archival activities on the immigrant experience.

"We're thrilled to welcome these new Americans as they become part of Minnesota's long immigration history," said Donna R. Gabaccia, IHRC director and Rudolph J. Vecoli Chair in Immigration History.

Magistrate Judge Janie S. Mayeron will preside over the naturalization ceremony, which begins at 1:30 p.m. Judge Mayeron is an alumna of both the College of Liberal Arts (sociology and English) and the Law School at the university. University Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Karen Hanson will lead the new Americans in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Immigrants from the following countries are expected to participate on Friday: Bahrain, Burma, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, China, Ethiopia, Guyana, India, Iran, Israel, Kenya, Laos, Liberia, Mexico, Moldova, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Somalia, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, and Vietnam.

The audience will be limited to participants, guests and volunteers, with live webcasting for off-site viewers. For information about off-site access, contact

Tags: College of Liberal Arts

Share This Story