Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

News Release.

News Release


New Regents Professors for 2010 are William Iacono (left), Horace Loh (middle) and Karen Seashore (right).

Three new Regents Professors named by University of Minnesota

Media Note: High-resolution images available upon request.

Contacts: Preston Smith, University News Service,, 612-625-0552

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (06/17/2010) —Three University of Minnesota professors have been named Regents Professors by the university's Board of Regents. The designation is the highest level of recognition given to faculty by the university.

They are William Iacono, Distinguished McKnight Professor, professor of psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience and law, and adjunct professor of child development; Horace Loh, Frederick and Alice Start Professor and head of the department of pharmacology, Medical School; and Karen Seashore, Robert H. Beck Professor of Ideas in Education, professor in the department of organizational leadership, policy and development in the College of Education and Human Development.

“Year after year, Regents Professors represent the best and brightest in their fields, and this year's selection is no exception," said University of Minnesota President Robert Bruininks. “Their bold discoveries and commitment to excellence across a wide range of disciplines embody the mission and aspirations of a world-class research and land-grant university.”

The addition of the new Regents Professors increases the total number of current Regents Professorships to 30.

“Our new distinguished group of Regents Professors are exemplars of the academic excellence that abounds at the University of Minnesota,” said Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Thomas Sullivan. “Throughout their careers, professors Iacono, Loh and Seashore have produced outstanding academic contributions, engaged their students in the classroom and provided exceptional service, thereby enhancing the reputation of the University of Minnesota. It is a privilege to honor this group.”

William Iacono (Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts) 

Iacono is a pioneer in the neurobiological approach to the study of mental disorders and one of the world’s leading clinical psychologists/experimental psychopathologists. He has made seminal contributions to adolescent and adult developmental psychopathology, substance abuse, psychiatric epidemiology, behavior genetics, and lie detection and he is considered to be one of the world’s foremost research scientists in these areas. He is best known for the Minnesota Twin Family Study, a benchmark longitudinal investigation of approximately 2000 adolescent twin pairs and their parents. He has published over 350 papers and he ranks among North America’s most cited and productive clinical psychologists. 

Iacono has contributed extensively in leadership and service activities at the departmental, university, national, and international level. His scholarly appointments include president of the Society for Psychophysiological Research; chair of the Society’s Publication Board; and associate editor of the journal Psychophysiology. He has received lifetime scientific achievement awards from the Society for Psychophysiological Research and the Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology, and he currently holds a MERIT award from the National Institute on Drug Abuse. He has also served as chair or member of numerous NIH study sections, and he has been a consultant on lie detection to a wide variety of government agencies. He currently serves as the director of the university’s Clinical Psychology Training Program and for over 20 years he has directed the Minnesota Center for Twin and Family Research. He has served as the primary advisor for over 40 doctoral and postdoctoral students as well as many young faculty members and successful academicians. 

Horace Loh (Department of Pharmacology, Medical School)

Loh is regarded as an outstanding scholar who has attained national and international prominence for his pharmacology research on addictions to morphine and related substances and the scientific basis for the treatment of opiate addiction. For more than 30 years his research has had a major impact on the understanding of how opioid drugs work on a cellular and molecular level. He has published over 580-refereed manuscripts, which have been cited over 15,000 times. He has mentored more than 30 Ph.D. students and over 100 post-doctoral fellows, many who have gone on to successful careers as directors of national institutes, heads of departments, professors, deans, founders of biotechnology firms, leaders in the pharmaceutical industry and scientists.

He was one of three scientists to receive the first MERIT, or Method to Extend Research in Time, Award from the National Institute on Drug Abuse of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He received the Senior Scientist Award from the NIH numerous times.  Loh was also among the first four inductees in the Academic Health Center’s Academy for Excellence in Health Research at the University of Minnesota and received the first Senior Investigator Award from the Medical School.

Karen Seashore (Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development, College of Education and Human Development)

Seashore is an internationally acclaimed scholar whose research is grounded in social science theory and who is considered to be the most important methodologist in the field of school improvement and school leadership in the last quarter century. Her work on entrepreneurial science is said to have changed the understanding of science and research and is considered to be the gold standard of early work on entrepreneurial science. She has published 13 books, 17 major monographs, 73 peer-reviewed articles and 52 chapters.

She has served on many editorial boards and review panels including the National Science Foundation’s sections on Sociology and on Ethics and Values in Science and Technology, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Spencer Foundation. In addition to serving on numerous university-level committees such as the Faculty Consultative Committee, the Senate Committee on Educational Policy, the Senate Committee on Finance and Planning, and as vice chair of the University Senate, she has served as associate dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Education, as director of the Center for Applied Research and Educational Improvement, chair of the Department of Educational Policy and Administration and as Director of Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development.

The Regents Professor position was established in 1965 by the Board of Regents to recognize the national and international prominence of faculty members. It serves as the highest recognition for faculty who have made unique contributions to the quality of the University of Minnesota through exceptional accomplishments in teaching, research and scholarship or creative work and contributions to the public good.

Tags: All administrative: President, Provost, etc., College of Education and Human Development, College of Liberal Arts, Academic Health Center

Share This Story