Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

News Release.

News Release

Polasky 300

Stephen Polasky becomes the 32nd U of M faculty member to be elected to National Academy of Sciences.

University of Minnesota professor Stephen Polasky elected to National Academy of Sciences

Polasky becomes just 32nd U of M professor to receive accolade

Contacts: Becky Beyers, CFANS,, (612) 626-5754
Patty Mattern, University News Service,, (612) 624-2801

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (04/27/2010) —University of Minnesota applied economics professor Stephen Polasky has been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences.

He is one of 72 new members and 18 foreign associates from 14 countries who were elected today in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Polasky becomes just the 32nd University of Minnesota faculty member to receive the honor in the 147-year history of the academy.

Polasky is the Fesler-Lampert professor of ecological/environmental economics in the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences at the university. He is a resident fellow at the university’s Institute on the Environment and is on the faculty of the ecology, evolution and behavior department in the College of Biological Sciences. He currently serves on the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board, the board of directors for the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics, and the board of directors and the science council of The Nature Conservancy. He was elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2009 and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2007.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to furthering science and its use for the general welfare.  It was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

Additional information about the Academy and its members is available online at

Tags: College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Share This Story