Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

News Release.

News Release

Two University of Minnesota students named Barry M. Goldwater scholars

Contacts: Ryan Maus, University News Service,, (612) 624-5551

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (04/06/2010) —Two University of Minnesota students were named 2010 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars and three students (including one from the University of Minnesota-Morris) received Honorable Mention.

The annual award is given to outstanding sophomores and juniors pursuing research-oriented careers in math, engineering and science all around the nation. The scholarship provides up to $7,500 per year for up to two years of undergraduate study.

The full scholarship recipients are:

Grant Remmen is a sophomore majoring in astrophysics, physics and mathematics in the Institute of Technology (soon to be named College of Science and Engineering).  Remmen plans to pursue a doctorate in astrophysics. He is also in the University Honors Program.  He intends to pursue a career in research, possibly at NASA or at a university.  Remmen is presently researching black holes with professor Robert Gehrz. Remmen completed an assessment of dark matter distribution in the Milky Way Galaxy with professor Thomas Walsh during his freshman year. He is a United States Presidential Scholar, National Merit Scholar, Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholar and Bentson Scholar.  Remmen is also a member of Golden Key International Honour Society and Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society).

Xiaoying Lou is a junior in the College of Biological Sciences (CBS) majoring in Biochemistry. She plans to pursue an M.D. as well as a  Ph.D. in Biochemistry or Pharmacology and envisions a career as a  physician-scientist working in drug development for cardiovascular diseases. Currently, Lou is investigating how molecular inhibitors regulate hormone receptors that control blood pressure and bone growth. Her advisor is Lincoln Potter, Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics. Lou is also studying mechanisms of vascular function in heart failure  patients with Donald Dengel, Associate Professor of Kinesiology. Previously, Lou studied yeast genomics with Robin Wright,  Genetics Professor and Associate Dean in the College of Biological Sciences, and conducted research in cardiothoracic surgery with Dr. Rosemary Kelly, Associate Professor of Surgery. Lou is President of the Biological Science Research Club. Among her many academic awards, she is a  National Merit Scholar and Bentson scholarship recipient. She is also the CBS Student Board President for 2010-2011.

U of M-Twin Cities Honorable Mentions Scott Isaacson and Brent Keller are both juniors in the Institute of Technology. Both students are actively involved in undergraduate research at the University of Minnesota and in summer programs.

Isaacson is a chemical engineering student, planning to earn his doctorate in materials science. He hopes to work at NASA on aerospace and renewable energy-related materials.

Keller is majoring in chemical engineering and chemistry and intends to pursue a doctorate in either chemical engineering or material science. He aspires to conduct research in nanotechnology and teach at the university level.

U of M-Morris Honorable Mention Rebecca Joy Lindquist is a chemistry and anthropology major and hopes to earn a doctorate in environmental chemistry, conduct research in sustainable chemistry and teach at the university level.

The Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,111 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.  Many of the Scholars have dual majors in a variety of mathematics, science, engineering, and computer disciplines.

Congress established the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. For more information on the Goldwater Scholarship go to

Tags: College of Science and Engineering, College of Biological Sciences

Share This Story

Related Links

Goldwater Scholarship