Phone: 612-624-5551
24-hr number: 612-293-0831

Advanced Search

News Release.

News Release

AAAS and University of Minnesota announce 2009 Fellows

Contacts: Patty Mattern, University News Service,, (612) 624-2801

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (12/21/2009) —Three University of Minnesota professors have been named Fellows to American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). These professors have been elevated to this rank because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

The university professors named Fellows are:

Marc A. Hillmyer
, a professor in the Department of Chemistry in the Institute of Technology: For outstanding contributions to the field of biorenewable polymers, particularly for using block copolymers to control properties and structure on the nanoscale. 

David J. Norris, a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science in the Institute of Technology: For distinguished contributions to the field of semiconducting nanocrystals and photonic crystals.

Carol E. Windels, a professor in the Department of Plant Pathology in the College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences: For definitive research on ecology of soil borne plant pathogens on field crops and integrated control of diseases, and for national professional leadership. Windels works out of the Northwest Research and Outreach Center in Crookston

This year 531 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin during the AAAS Fellows Forum from 8 to 10 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 20 at the 2010 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego.

This year's AAAS Fellows were announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science this month.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association's 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

Tags: College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences, College of Science and Engineering

Share This Story